top of page

Police Are Cricket Champs

The victorious Police Team, celebrates after collecting their winning trophy

Police have been crowned champions of the Turks and Caicos Islands Cricket Association T20 Senior Men’s competition after defeating Beaches by six wickets at the Downtown Ball Park on Sunday, July 3.

Beaches, who were sent into bat after the losing the coin toss, score 139 for 4 wickets off their allotted 20 overs. Anthony McKnight tops-scored with 34 runs from 44 balls, before being runout by Phillip Smith. His time at the crease was punctuated with six 4s.

Anthony McKnight collecting his trophy for scoring most runs

Number five batsman, Jerome Daley, also made meaningful contributions, by scoring an unbeaten 30 runs off 23 balls, punching two 6s and two fours, before being runout. Mario Smith, who batted at number four, also made good contribution with 28 runs. His score included four 4’s and one six, before being caught by Damian St. Ange off a Chabbie Charlrie bowling.

Richard Rowe, the number two batsman for Beaches scored one run before falling lbw to Haiden Spring, while Sidue Hunter, the number three batsman, went for a duck, after facing just two balls. He was caught by Kareem Jack off the bowling of a Haiden Spring bowling.

Claude Williams of Beaches collecting his trophy for snaring most wickets

Bowling for the Police, Haiden Spring bagged two wickets for 13 runs off three overs, while Chabbie Charlrie captured one wicket for 36 runs off his allotted four overs.

With their turn at the crease, the Police overhauled the total, scoring 140 for 4 in 17.3 overs. Kareem Jack top-scored with an unbeaten 27 runs from 22 balls, knocking four 4s. Sabuton John was the second-best scorer with 24 runs from 40 balls, comprising two 4s, before he fell lbw to Jerome Daley.

Chabbie Charlrie scored 23 runs off 18 balls, which comprised two 4s, before being caught by Jerome Daley off the bowling of Claude Williams.

Garvin Bruno scored 21 runs form 13 balls, comprising four 4’s, before being caught by bowled by Sidue Hunter. Phillip Smith ended the game unbeaten on four runs from eight balls.

Claude Williams was the pick of the Beaches bowlers, grabbing two wickets for 34 runs off his allotted four overs. Jerome Daley and Sidue Hunter captured a wicket apiece. Hunter’s wicket came in 2.3 overs, giving up 22 runs, while Hunter’s wicket came from his allotted four overs, while conceding 29 runs.

Kareem Jack of the Police Team was voted man of the match. Anthony McKnight was named Man of the Series for scoring most runs during the tournament, while Claude Williams, also of Beaches was awarded for capturing most wickets.

The umpires in that game were Dwight Marie and Calvin Chase, while the scorers Clement Joseph and Maxine Salmon.



bottom of page