top of page

Sivil Dean-Morgan Is The 2022 Humanitarian Of The Year

Human Rights Commissioner Sabrina Green (right) presents Sivil Dean-Morgan with the Humanitarian Award for 2022.

Sivil Dean-Morgan of Blue Hills, Providenciales is the 2022 Turks and Caicos Islands Human Rights Commission Humanitarian of the year.

The fifth staging of the event took place at the Shore Club Resort in Providenciales on Saturday, December 10, and which saw Jeffery Nicolas being bestowed with the Junior Humanitarian of the Year.

Dean-Morgan has been active in her community on a number of fronts, including providing relief to children and other members of her surroundings. Dean-Morgan is also responsible for biggest event in that community during the festive season – Christmas in Blue Hills. She is also responsible for staging another huge event during the Easter time.

Jeffery Nicolas collects his Junior Humanitarian of the Year Award from Human Rights Commissioner Sabrina Green.

During her acceptance speech, Dean-Morgan encouraged others in the Turks and Caicos Islands to adorn themselves with characters of kindness. She told the audience that she found satisfaction in assisting others who may be less fortunate.

A number of persons and entities being also recognized for their selfless acts of kindness by the Sabrina Green-led Human Rights Commission.

Pastor Anotoinette Talbot was this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. Food for Thought, an entity which provides hot breakfast for less fortunate in government schools has been named NGO of the Year.

Former parliamentarian Hon. Emily Saunders, mother of Deputy Premier Hon. E.Jay Saunders and wife of former Chief Minister Hon. Norman Saunders, was the 2022 Cheryl Astwood-Tull Awardee.

Social media was part of this year’s event, and as a result Andre Rupert Gibson was the People’s Choice Award.

There was also a category called Community Stars of particular islands. for Grand Turk, the Community Star was the Rotary Club of Grand Turk and Widwina Ariza. For South Caicos, the Community Star went to Hon. Emily Saunders, Camiko Lewis and Layton Harvey.

Members of the Hands of Praise performing one of their dance numbers at the event.

For North Caicos, The award went to Queenell Missick and Brian ‘Naqqi’ Manco. For Middle Caicos, Adelaide Handfield-Taylor and Albert Robinson were the recipients of the Community Stars Awards, while for Providenciales, the Sisterhood TCI, Soroptomist Club, Bianca Harvey-Joseph, KimChar Village, Dorean Williams, Bishop Bryant Cox and Rosemary Duncanson were the recipients.

According to Sabrina Green, Human Rights Commissioner, to select the Humanitarian of the Year, the Junior Humanitarian of the Year and the various sub-humanitarian of the Year Awardees, surveys were conducted throughout the Turks and Caicos Islands for individuals and/or organizations performing humanitarian acts that edifies the various communities and provides much needed assistance for the most vulnerable among us.

“When decided who qualifies, the Commission considers the consistency, period of time, and the overall benefit of these acts of humanitarianism. Persons selected range from the neighborhood go-to guy to individuals conducting annual back to school drives, hosting senior citizens retreats on a quarterly basis, adopting families to assist with their daily needs, the conduit for persons seeking to file various documents, feeding the needy,” Green said.

The event was also filled with spectacular entertainment. The silky Julian Garland wowed the audience with his captivating voice. The Long Bay High School also gave a stupendous rendition of ‘We are here”.

The Breezy Beach Dancers of Blue Hills, as well as the Seventh Day Adventist’s Hands of Praise brought the house down with their seamlessly choreographed numbers.

The date for the 2023 event has already been set as December 9.

State of the State Banner (728 x 90 px)-2.png
bottom of page